International Feature Film Competition

LUFF 2016–Film–Feature films
Musique: Altar of Flies (Thursday 20.10.16), Yasunao Tone (Wednesday 19.10.16). Montage: Aline Bonvin.



300x195_Cat

Cat Sick Blues

Dave Jackson, 2015, Australia
HD, English (st. french), 101’
phantasmesvideo.com

As a consequence of his cat’s death, a man sinks into a depression and transforms himself into a serial killer wearing a red sweater, a razor-sharp-clawed paw and a feline mask with big cute eyes. Will his new romance with Claire, a young woman devastated after also losing her cat, bring him back to reason? But is she the one who brings him back to reason ? At first glance « Cat Sick Blues » appears to be a silly slasher but reveals itself as a merciless gem. As an outrageously brutal and astonishingly trashy reaction to the trend of LOLcats and other memes, Dave Jackson’s film hits the audience where it really hurts.

300x195_Eyedream

The Eye’s Dream

Gankyû no yume
Hisayazu Satô, 2016, Japan/United States
HD, Japanese (st. English-French), 102’

This is the encounter between the neurologist Dr. Sata who is specialized in the phenomenon of « phantom limb » – perceived by people who have suffered an amputation – and a female photographer obsessed about the human eye since she has plucked out the eye her kidnapper. Watch out! Pinku Eiga veteran Hisayazu Satô is making his return to LUFF. Whereas his film « Hana-Dama » (LUFF 2014) turned out to be less typical personal than his previous works, is a comeback « The Eye’s Dream » of politico-subversive eroticism that made his very reputation. As surprising as it may sound, this film come to life after Satô met ethnologists Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Paravel known for the documentary « Leviathan », awarded at the Locarno Film Festival 2012.

300x195_Wild

Wild

Nicolette Krebitz, 2016, Germany
HD, Germany (st. French-English), 97’

Ania is a young IT specialist living alone in the apartment of her dying grandfather. Her life turns upside down after encountering a wolf in an urban area. Starting like a social drama, “Wild” slowly takes a twin to a condition of wilderness that we all need. The film transcends our expectations and prepares us little for what is coming next. Intense and unsettling, Nicolette Krebitz’ film (also known as actress in “Der Tunnel” by Roland Suso Richter, 2001) is an effective as well as radical variation on the subjects similar to those of Sean Penn’s “Into the Wild”. In contrast of it, “Wild” doesn’t become cumbersome and moralistic.

300x195_Eyes

The Eyes of My Mother

Nicolas Pesce, 2016, United States
HD, English (st. French), 76’

In the depth of the American countryside, Francisca’s life gets thrown out of balance when a psychopath comes out of the blue brutally murdering her mother. Enough said, revealing more of the plot would spoil it. Shot in sumptuous black and white by young director Nicolas Pesce (26 year-old), screenwriter and editor in one person, the film dives into the abysses of winding solitude and gives the viewer no time to breathe.



300x195_Tabloid

Tabloid Vivant

Kyle Broom, 2015, United States
HD, English (st. French), 105’

By nature, the artist seeks to exceed his abilities. When Maximilien Klinkau tries to surpass his very own abilities, he catches the attention of art critic Sara Speed. Subsequently, their encounter gives rise to a powerful dynamic that leads to a new form of artistic expression with potentially dangerous consequences. Beyond comparison, “Tabloid Vivant” presents itself as an arthouse thriller Kyle Broom’s feature debut cannot be classified. It looks like rooted in reality, but comes down to be deeply surrealist. It is a genre film that follows no obvious pattern. “Tabloid Vivant” throws the viewer for a loop and this is just one of many qualities it brings along with.

300x195_Fleury

Jury

Michael Rosen
Berlin, Germany
Curateur

Sylvie Fleury
Geneva, Switzerland
Artist

Alex Diehl
Rotterdam, Netherlands
Curator

Compétition internationale longs métrages

LUFF 2016–Film–Longs métrages
Musique: Altar of Flies (Jeudi 20.10.16), Yasunao Tone (Mercredi 19.10.16). Montage: Aline Bonvin.



300x195_Cat

Cat Sick Blues

Dave Jackson, 2015, Australie
HD, anglais (st. français), 101’
phantasmesvideo.com

Parce qu’il a perdu son chat, un homme sombre dans la dépression et se mue en serial killer vêtu d’un pullover rouge, d’une patte de chat aux griffes acérées, et d’un masque de félin aux yeux trop mignons. Une nouvelle romance avec Claire, cette jeune femme dévastée par la perte de son chat à elle, pourrait-elle lui permettre de retrouver la sérénité ? Sous ses airs de slasher puéril, « Cat Sick Blues » dissimule une perle vénéneuse. Comme une réaction outrageusement brutale et étonnamment trash à la mode des lol-cat et autres #kikou-teubé, le film du jeune Dave Jackson gratte sournoisement là où ça démange.

300x195_Eyedream

The Eye’s Dream

Gankyû no yume
Hisayazu Satô, 2016, Japon/Etats-Unis
HD, japonais (st. anglais-français), 102’

C’est la rencontre entre le Dr. Sata, neurologiste spécialisé dans le phénomène « des membres fantômes » perçu par les personnes ayant subi une amputation, et de Maya, photographe obsédée par l’œil humain depuis qu’elle énucléa l’homme qui tenta de l’enlever. Retour au LUFF du vétéran du pinku eiga Hisayazu Satô. Si son « Hana-Dama », présenté en 2014, s’était avéré moins personnel que nombre de ses précédents efforts, « The Eye’s Dream » marque un retour à l’érotisme politico-subversif qui l’a fait connaître. Aussi surprenant que cela puisse paraître, la production fut motivée par la rencontre de Satô avec les ethnologues Lucien Castaing-Taylor et Verena Paravel, auteurs du documentaire « Leviathan » primé à Locarno en 2012.

300x195_Wild

Wild

Nicolette Krebitz, 2016, Allemagne
HD, allemand (st. français-anglais), 97’

Une jeune informaticienne esseulée vivant dans l’appartement de son grand-père mourant voit sa vie basculer après sa rencontre avec un loup en milieu urbain. Sous ses allures initiales de drame social, « Wild » nous emmène doucement vers un retour à l’état sauvage dont nous avons peut-être tous besoin, et transcende les attentes d’un public peu préparé. Terriblement troublant, le film de la comédienne Nicolette Krebitz (« Der Tunnel », Roland Suso Richter, 2001) est une variation aussi efficace que radicale sur les thèmes abordés dans le « Into the Wild » de Sean Penn, tout en étant débarrassée des lourdeurs et morales de ce dernier.

300x195_Eyes

The Eyes of My Mother

Nicolas Pesce, 2016, Etats-Unis
HD, anglais (st. français), 76’

Au plus profond de la campagne américaine, la jeune Francisca voit son quotidien bousculé quand un psychopathe sorti de nulle part asassine brutalement sa mère au sein de la demeure familiale. Impossible d’en dire plus sans nuire au récit. Tourné dans un noir et blanc somptueux par le très jeune (26 ans) scénariste-réalisateur-monteur Nicolas Pesce, le film plonge en apnée dans les abîmes tortueuses de la solitude et ne lâche prise à aucun moment.



300x195_Tabloid

Tabloid Vivant

Kyle Broom, 2015, Etats-Unis
HD, anglais (st. français), 105’

Il est sans doute naturel que tout artiste cherche à transcender les techniques dont il dispose. Lorsque Maximilien Klinkau est amené à dépasser les siennes, il fait appel à la critique d’art Sara Speed. Leur rencontre devient le moteur d’une nouvelle forme d’expression artistique aux conséquences potentiellement dangereuses. Comparable à nul autre film, « Tabloid Vivant » est décrit comme un thriller artistique par certaines journalistes comme s’il s’agissait là d’un sous-genre en devenir. Le premier long métrage de Kyle Broom est en effet inclassable, il semble ancré dans la réalité mais s’avère profondément surréaliste, il est un film de genre mais n’en respecte aucun code. « Tabloid Vivant » désarçonne, et ce n’est là que l’une de ses nombreuses qualités

300x195_Fleury

Jury

Michael Rosen
Berlin, Allemagne
Curateur

Sylvie Fleury
Genève, Suisse
Artiste

Alex Diehl
Rotterdam, Pays-Bas
Curateur